Stockfisch-Records

A new format: The Stockfisch DMM-DUBPLATE

It’s always exciting when you go from an end product, such as a vinyl record, to its original source. Our DMM Dubplate does exactly that. In the process of pressing a vinyl record from an LP-master, a lot of sound details get lost. The DMM Dubplate is of course no alternative to a mass product such as the familiar pressed vinyl record. Still, this experiment is surely very insightful and highly enjoyable for ambitious listeners.

Here’s some technical information about our new format:

Our DMM Lathe cuts the audio into a copper plated steel disc. We normally use this process to create a 14" DMM-Master that is sent to pressing plants for the production of vinyl records. Our new DMM-Dubplate however, is about the same size as a regular vinyl record (though a bit larger, due to technical reasons). This makes it possible to play it on any record player and helps you bypass the loss in sound quality that is caused by the additional steps in the production of records, such as galvanic processes and the pressing of the vinyl.

The DMM-Dubplate avoids issues like pre-echos and crackling noises. The high purity phosphate-copper has very little groove noise and clicking noises are seldom. The tracking force of the tonearm can be left as is. Only one side of a DMM disc is recordable since the backside is not copper plated. Because every DMM Dubplate is unique, the client’s name will be handwritten on the label.

Stockfisch DMM-DUBPLATE Vol.1

There’s a first evaluation of the DMM Dubplate in the HIFI & MUSIK JOURNAL, written by Joachim Pfeiffer:

“Günter Pauler, the founder and the driving force of Stockfisch Records, is counted among the best sound engineers worldwide. Some even say that he is the best. This sound wizard has now came up with a new sound carrier, which intends to acoustically surpass every pressed record. (…)

'Wow, so each Dubplate is a unique specimen', thinks the author as he puts on the white gloves provided in the package in order to take the DMM Dubplate carefully out of its sleeve. Though perspiration from the hand would have no effect on sound quality (provided you wipe it off), it could leave visual marks on the disc – the copper surface could 'tarnish' a bit. Well, yes, even the experienced professional would get damp hands as they watch the tonearm sink on the copper surface. You first hear NOTHING in the lead-in groove until a familiar voice appears with a clarity which you haven’t yet heard from a vinyl record: Chris Jones begins singing the audiophile-hymn: No Sanctuary Here. All that without an advance notice, because there really is no pre-echo.

Instead of the usual interference noises (which every analog fan of course came to accept like birdsong in the woods), there is only a gentle noise from the phono stage, which must be due to the fact that the level setting was set too high on this first rendezvous with Pauler’s power plate.

There are five songs on this Volume I of the DMM Dubplate. Be assured, dear reader, that you’ve never heard such a record before in your life. Even the (pressed) direct-cuts from the pre-digital era lag behind this disc in an almost bizarre way.

HiFi & Musik Journal will be intensively looking into this new sound carrier, because the question remains to be answered, whether the pickup gets worn faster when listening to these discs. And by the way, how does the sound of this godly disc change over time? Though the price of 678.- Euros might not exactly be a bargain, it’s by all means justified when you take into account the effort that goes into it. Every vinyl fan should get at least one of these wonderdiscs. "

                                                                                     Joachim Pfeiffer, in: HIFI & MUSIK Journal, 5.5.2020

Stockfisch-Shop

Important Information:
Our DMM-Dubplate should not be washed with a record-cleaning machine, since it might cause a chemical reaction on the copper surface. In contrast to a vinyl record, there’s no mechanical abrasion and no electrostatic charge in the copper groove. After the DMM-Dubplate has been played, it should be placed back in the plastic sleeve together with the white protection sheet, in order to prevent oxidation.

Please also note: With the DMM-Dubplate, the wear-rate of the diamond-stylus is comparable to when playing a regular vinyl record.

The Stockfisch DMM-CD/SACD Vol.2



The Stockfisch DMM-CD/SACD Vol.2

Ein neuer Tonträger: Die Stockfisch DMM-DUBPLATE

Es ist immer spannend, wenn man von einem Endprodukt, wie z.B. einer Vinyl-Schallplatte, bis auf die Quelle dieses Formats zurückgeht. Genau das dokumentiert unsere DMM-Dubplate. Auf dem Weg von der Überspielung zur gepressten Schallplatte gehen viele klangliche Details verloren. Unsere DMM-Dubplate kann natürlich keine Alternative zu einem Massenprodukt wie der bekannten gepressten Vinyl-Schallplatte sein. Für ambitionierte Hörer jedoch ist unser Experiment sicherlich sehr erkenntnisreich und genussvoll.

Hier eine technische Beschreibung unseres neuen Formats:

Wir schneiden das Musikprogramm auf kupferbeschichtete Edelstahlplatten – mit der gleichen Technik, wie wir sie bei der DMM Überspielung für Presswerke einsetzen. Unsere DMM-Dubplate hat annähernd den gleichen Durchmesser wie eine Schallplatte (die DMM-Dubplate ist aus produktionstechnischen Gründen etwas größer als eine Vinyl-LP) und kann auf jedem Plattenspieler abgespielt werden. Sie umgeht damit die deutliche Qualitätsminderung einer gepressten Schallplatte, die Folge der galvanischen Umformungsprozesse, des verwendeten Granulats, des Pressvorgangs, etc. ist.

Auf einer DMM-Dubplate dagegen gibt es keine Vorechos und kein Knistern. Das hochreine Phosphat-Kupfer hat nahezu kein Rillengeräusch und nur selten kleine Klicks. Sie können Ihren gewohnten Auflagedruck des Pickups beibehalten. Allerdings ist die DMM-Dubplate nur einseitig kupferbeschichtet und daher nur einseitig bespielbar. Weil es sich um ein Unikat handelt, ist Ihr Name auf dem Label zu lesen.

Stockfisch DMM-DUBPLATE Vol.1

Es gibt einen ersten Test im HIFI & MUSIK JOURNAL, den der Fachjournalist Joachim Pfeiffer verfasst hat:

"Günter Pauler, Gründer und Motor von Stockfisch Records gilt weltweit als einer der besten Toningenieure. Manche sagen sogar, er sei der beste überhaupt. Nun hat der Klangmagier einen neuen Tonträger erfunden, der akustisch jede gepresste Schallplatte ins Abseits stellen will. (…)

Wow, jede Dubplate ist also ein Unikat, denkt sich der Autor und zieht die beigelegten weißen Handschuhe an, um die DMM-Dubplate vorsichtig aus der Hülle zu befreien. Denn Körperschweiß auf der Kupferfläche hätte (nach Entfernen desselben) keine klanglichen Veränderungen, sehr wohl aber optische – das Kupfer würde halt ein wenig „anlaufen“. Ja, da bekommt selbst der ausgebuffte Profi feuchte Hände, als sich der Tonarm auf das Kupfer senkt. Zu hören ist quasi NICHTS in der Einlaufrille und dann tönt eine vertraute Stimme, die man so von der Schallplatte noch nicht kannte: Chris Jones intoniert die Hymne für Audiophile: "No Sanctuary Here". Ohne Vorankündigung, denn tatsächlich gibt es prinzipbedingt kein Vorecho.

Dem Umstand geschuldet, dass statt üblicher Störgeräusche, die jeder Analog-Fan so selbstverständlich hinnimmt wie das Vogelgezwitscher im Wald, nur das sanfte Rauschen des Phonozweigs zu vernehmen ist, dürfte der Pegelsteller beim ersten Rendevous mit Paulers Power-Plate in der Regel zu weit aufgezogen sein.

Fünf Songs sind auf Volume I der DMM Dubplate zu hören. Seien Sie, lieber Leser versichert, dass Sie noch nie in Ihrem Leben zuvor so eine Schallplatte hören durften. Selbst die (gepressten) Direkt-Schnitte aus der vordigitalen Zeit fallen dagegen schon fast bizarr ab.

Das HiFi & Musik Journal wird sich intensiv mit diesem neuen Tonträger befassen, weil ja auch die Frage geklärt werden muss, ob die Scheibe womöglich den Tonabnehmer schneller altern lässt. Und, by the way, wie verändert sich der göttliche Klang der Platte auf Dauer? Zwar ist der Preis für so eine Dubplate mit 678,- Euro nicht gerade ein Sonderangebot, angesichts des Aufwands ist er aber auf jeden Fall gerechtfertigt. Zumindest eine dieser Wunderscheiben sollte sich jeder Fan sichern."

                                                                                     Joachim Pfeiffer, in: HIFI & MUSIK Journal, 5.5.2020

Stockfisch-Shop                Erhältlich ab 2.6.2020.

The Stockfisch DMM-CD/SACD Vol.2



The Stockfisch DMM-CD/SACD Vol.2