Stockfisch-Records

Carrie Newcomer

Carrie Newcomer is a songwriter, recording artist, performer and educator. A friendly, un-dogmatic but at the same time deep spirituality is at the core of her artistry.

She has been described as a “prairie mystic” by the Boston Globe and a person who “asks all the right questions” by Rolling Stone, and "She's the kind of artist whose music makes you stop, think and then say, that is sooo true ...” (The Dallas Morning News).

Carrie Newcomer

"Every day we are living moments of grace and wonder, shadow and light. These are the moments I write about."

All of this alone would be impressive, but it is Carrie’s deep and warm voice which ultimately dissolves any resistance and pulls you in, never to let you go. There is a reason why she is often compared to iconic singers such as Karen Carpenter or Mary Chapin Carpenter: “a voice as rich as Godiva chocolate” (The Austin Statesman).

Stockfisch-Shop

"The Slender Thread"

Once upon a time there was a singer from a far-off country who was fair of face and sang with the voice of an angel. Her name was Newcomer, although she possessed a rich store of artistic experience. The master troubadours of Stockfisch heard of this wonderful songstress, and because in a fairy-tale nothing is impossible, they waved their wands and whisked her over the wide, wide ocean to ultimately land in the fabled acoustic cavern of Northeim. There they enhanced her golden voice with lutes, flutes and other fabulous instruments ...

The wonderful thing is: this is not a fairy tale, or more correctly, for the poets, dreamers, and connaisseurs (actually for all of us), this is a fairy-tale come true! With its warm, catchy tunes and mellow, autumnal glow, The Slender Thread, Newcomer's debut album on Stockfisch, can easily become a habit ...

One can't help getting the impression - Carrie Newcomer has a gift for happiness. For the artist herself, incidentally, her songs are old friends – they stand for her friendship with life, people and not least with music. The Slender Thread beckons with the promise of a good friend in the making - or perhaps a whole group of good friends in these songs and melodies that are sure to get stuck in your head.

Despite all harmony - more reflective themes are touched upon too. But in such a way that her gift of happiness is contagious: it rubs off on us too!

 

SFR 357.4088.2  •  total time 49:50  •  Hybrid-SACD

MUSIKER

performing on this album "The Slender Thread":

Carrie Newcomer - lead and harmony vocals, acoustic guitar / Gary Walters - piano, marimba / Ian Melrose - guitar, percussion / Jean Kelly - Irish harp / Lutz Möller - keyboards / Jens Kommnick - tin-whistle, ocarina, mandola /  Manfred Leuchter - accordion / Beo Brockhausen - hang / Lea Morris - backing vocals / Sven von Samson  - percussion / Hans-Jörg Maucksch - fretless bass

Carrie Newcomer

Carrie Newcomer ist eine in den USA sehr bekannte SongwriterIn, Poetin und Bühnenpersönlichkeit. Eine freundliche, undogmatische aber sehr tiefe Spiritualität prägt ihr künstlerisches Tun:

Sie wurde beispielsweise von der Zeitung Boston Globe als “prairie mystic” beschrieben; der Rolling Stone bezeichnet sie als diejenige, die “die richtigen Fragen stellt ...“; die Dallas Morning News schreibt, „sie ist die Art Künstlerin, deren Musik dich innehalten und nachdenken lässt, und dann ertappt man sich beim Aussprechen des Satzes – das ist sooo wahr ...“.

Carrie Newcomer

"Every day we are living moments of grace and wonder, shadow and light. These are the moments I write about."

Das wäre alleine schon beeindruckend, aber es ist gerade Carries tiefe, warme Stimme, die einen endgültig in ihren Bann zieht. Der Vergleich mit solchen Gesangsgrößen wie Karen Carpenter oder Mary Chapin Carpenter kommt nicht von ungefähr. The Austin Statesman schrieb zurecht: „Eine Stimme so samtig wie Godiva Schokolade.“

Stockfisch-Shop

"The Slender Thread"

Das Entstehen dieser CD-Produktion hat etwas Märchenhaftes: eine Sängerin aus einem fernen Land mit engelsgleichem Antlitz und samtiger Stimme traf in Northeim auf die Klangmeister von Stockfisch: Die veredelten das Gold ihrer Stimme mit ihrer einmaligen akustischen Magie in eine Art rotbackigen Herbstapfels mit Ohrwurmgarantie – so bleibt diese Stimme haften. Das besonders Schöne – das ist kein Märchen, sondern eben Carrie Newcomers Erstlingswerk bei Stockfisch Records.

Man hat ganz stark den Eindruck: Carrie Newcomer hat eine Begabung für das Glück. Sie selbst schätzt übrigens ihre Songs als alte Freunde ein: Freundschaft zum Leben, zu anderen Menschen und nicht zuletzt zur Musik. The Slender Thread wird ganz sicher ebenfalls zu einem vertrauten Freund werden, den man nicht mehr missen möchte. Eingängig, warmtönend, wohltuend.

Und trotz aller Harmonie: Hier wird durchaus auch über nachdenkliche Themen eindringlich reflektiert, aber auf eine Weise, die Anteil an ihrer Fähigkeit zum Glück nehmen lässt. Ansteckend!


SFR 357.4088.2  •  total time 49:50  •  Hybrid-SACD

MUSIKER

Auf der Produktion "The Slender Thread" wirken mit:

Carrie Newcomer - lead and harmony vocals, acoustic guitar / Gary Walters - piano, marimba / Ian Melrose - guitar, percussion / Jean Kelly - Irish harp / Lutz Möller - keyboards / Jens Kommnick - tin-whistle, ocarina, mandola /  Manfred Leuchter - accordion / Beo Brockhausen - hang / Lea Morris - backing vocals / Sven von Samson  - percussion / Hans-Jörg Maucksch - fretless bass